Palmetto Sun Balloons

Palmetto Sun Balloons - Flights, Training, Marketing, Special Events Hot Air Balloon Rides, flight training, weather services and safety seminars

Operating as usual

wspa.com

Hot air balloons rise over Williamston this weekend to benefit Cancer Association of Anderson

wspa.com Williamston, S.C. (WSPA)- The Hot Air Affair will happen in Williamston this year to benefit area cancer patients in a scaled down size due to COVID-19. The event has become the Town of Williamston…

faasafety.gov

Activities, Courses, Seminars & Webinars - Event Details and Registration - FAA - FAASTeam - FAASafety.gov

Monday September 28th at 6PM Central Time.
Preventative maintenance webinar with balloon manufacturers: Andy Baird (Cameron Balloons), Phil Thomspon (Lindstrand Balloons USA), Mark West (Aerostar), and Keith Gantt (Firefly Balloons - unconfirmed). Each will discuss owner/operator maintenance of their respective brand. Questions from the audience encouraged!

More information here: https://www.faasafety.gov/SPANS/event_details.aspx?eid=101527&caller=/SPANS/events/ModifyEventList.aspx?type=2

Registration: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/425489418874736143

All webinars will be recorded and available for viewing later on The Balloon Training Academy website www.theballoontrainingacademy.com

Discussed in the last couple webinars, there was a balloon featured article in the latest issue of the FAA Safety Briefing Magazine. Check it out here: https://medium.com/faa/rise-to-the-top-aae3c611ca48

Full magazine here: https://www.faa.gov/news/safety_briefing/

Thanks,
Adam Magee

faasafety.gov This live webinar will be hosted by US based balloon manufacturers including Lindstrand, Cameron, Aerostar, and FireFly. They will discuss preventative maintenance and how the owner/operator can care for their aircraft.

independentmail.com

Hot air balloons rise over Williamston to support those fighting cancer

independentmail.com The Cancer Association of Anderson held the Hot Air Rising Above Cancer event in Williamston, S.C. Friday, September 4, 2020.

wspa.com

Hot air balloons rise over Williamston this weekend to benefit Cancer Association of Anderson

wspa.com Williamston, S.C. (WSPA)- The Hot Air Affair will happen in Williamston this year to benefit area cancer patients, in a scaled down size due to COVID-19. The event has become the Town of Williamsto…

Lifting Spirits around the World - South Carolina

LIFTING SPIRITS AROUND THE WORLD IN SOUTH CAROLINA
FRIDAY OCT 2nd-4th, 2020

Friday (Sunset 1902)
1700 Wx briefing at Civic Center Launch Field
Fly or Glow
Propane

Saturday (Sunrise 0718)
Anderson County Airport or Launch Field (TBD)
0700 Wx briefing
0730 Flight
Propane
0930 Breakfast Tailgate Stukas hangar

Saturday (Sunset 1901)
1800 Wx Briefing An Med Campus
1830 1930 Display / Glow
Propane

Sunday (Sunrise 0719)
Optional flight

Holiday Inn Anderson
3509 Clemson Blvd
Anderson, South Carolina 29621
864 2261000
Group Name: Lifting Spirits Around The World
Group Code: LSW
Check In: Friday, October 2, 2020 (3:00 PM)
Check Out: Sunday, October 4, 2020 (11:00 AM)
Cutoff Date: Friday, September 25, 2020
Group Billing Options: Guest is responsible for all charges.
Online Booking link: LiftSpiritsAroundTheWorld

medium.com

Use of Weather Information

https://medium.com/faa/use-of-weather-information-a16cc1d4c003

medium.com #FlySafe GA Safety Enhancement Topic

medium.com

Use of Weather Information

https://medium.com/faa/use-of-weather-information-a16cc1d4c003

medium.com #FlySafe GA Safety Enhancement Topic

ipadpilotnews.com

The 10 best weather apps for pilots - iPad Pilot News

https://ipadpilotnews.com/2020/05/best-weather-apps-for-pilots/

ipadpilotnews.com

[08/19/20]   FAA Safety Team | Safer Skies Through Education
You have asked us to notify you when a webinar is scheduled that meets your criteria. The following webinar may be of interest to you:

"Lighter Than Air Outreach Series - FAA Compliance Philosophy"
Topic: This webinar will educate pilots on the FAA compliance philosophy and program among other topics..
On Monday, August 31, 2020 at 18:00 Central Daylight Time (16:00 PDT, 17:00 MDT, 19:00 EDT, 13:00 HST, 15:00 AKDT, 16:00 Arizona, 23:00 GMT)

Select Number:
CE01101341

Description:

What happens if you run afoul of an FAR? Will your certificate be suspended? How should you interact with the FAA? Learn about the FAA Compliance Philosophy and Program.

Learn how the FAA handles enforcement action in this webinar!

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: Des Moines FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit

Balloon Federation of America

Happy Wednesday!

Hoping to fly Saturday and Sunday morning.

Looking for some crew if anyone is available

[07/27/20]   FLIGHT ADVISORY
GPS INTERFERENCE TESTING
CARRIER STRIKE GROUP FOUR (CSG4) 20-03

26 July – 03 August 2020

Off-The-Coast

GPS testing is scheduled as follows and may result in unreliable or unavailable GPS signal.

A. Location: Centered at 321000N0794000W or the CHS VOR 162 degree radial at 48NM.

B. Dates and times (Dates and times are based on GMT (Z).):
26 JUL 20 1100Z – 2100Z
02 AUG 20 1100Z – 2100Z
03 AUG 20 1100Z – 2100Z

C. Duration: Each event may last the entire requested period.

D. NOTAM INFO: NAV GPS (CSG4 GPS 20-03) (INCLUDING WAAS, GBAS, AND ADS-B) MAY NOT BE AVBL WI A 295NM RADIUS CENTERED AT

321000N0794000W (CHS162048) FL400-UNL,

248NM RADIUS AT FL250,

180NM RADIUS AT 10000FT,

135NM RADIUS AT 4000FT AGL,

71NM RADIUS AT 50FT AGL.

E. Pilots are encouraged to report anomalies in accordance with the Aeronautical Information Manual (AIM) paragraphs 1-1-13 and 5-3-3.

The Balloon Training Academy

Monday July 27th at 6pm Central Time - you're invited to join a panel of ballooning DPEs to learn about weak areas found during practical exams (check rides) and training deficiencies. The intent is to discuss ballooning training in order to raise the bar on hot air balloon education and training.

All are welcome to participate!

More information and sign up here: https://faasafety.gov/SPANS/event_details.aspx?eid=101209

www.faasafety.gov

Please be aware of GP interference testing in the vicinity of Fort Stewart, GA.

FLIGHT ADVISORY
GPS INTERFERENCE TESTING
FORT STEWART GEORGIA
16 – 18 July 2020
Fort Stewart, GA

https://www.faasafety.gov/files/notices/2020/Jul/FTSTGA_20-38_GPS_Flight_Advisory.pdf

faasafety.gov

store.itstactical.com

Be Prepared for Life’s Cuts and Scrapes

I have found this perfect for keeping in my hot air balloon! Get the pouch and use a carabiner to clip it to the basket

store.itstactical.com Built in the USA, our ITS Zip Bags represent our take on the classic zippered pouch. Featuring sewn webbing handles on each side, these not only facilitate easy retrieval from a bag, but also enable a fixed grip-point to aid in opening and closing the zipper. Additionally, we’ve sewn a 5“ wide x...

kob.com

ABF: Canceled Balloon Fiesta leaves $180 million hole

kob.com Safety concerns forced organizers to postpone the event.

Lifting Spirits around the World

Provide an opportunity for the Balloonists in Albuquerque and around the World to say THANK YOU to the “front-line workers” that exhibited steadfast determination to help where help was needed.



[07/02/20]   Fun Stats from my FAA Records:

Student Pilot - 4/3/1982

Private Pilot Balloon Written Test - 3/13/1982 (Passed 78)

Private Pilot Balloon Checkride - 7/3/1983

Commercial Written Test - 6/1/1985 (Passed 82)

Private Pilot Airplane Written Test - 3/16/1991 (Passed 86)

Private Pilot Airplane Checkride (SEL) - 6/2/1991

Commercial Pilot Checkride - 6/20/1985

Southeastern Balloon Camp

Have you signed up for the FREE online Campinar July 13-16? Come joins us for a great slate of presenters and conversations with balloonists form all over the world!

https://www.bfa.net/component/rsform/form/59-2020-jb-campinar-registration

Weather is looking good for Saturday mornings flight in Anderson!

[07/01/20]   FAA Safety Team | Safer Skies Through Education

You have asked us to notify you when a webinar is scheduled that meets your criteria. The following webinar may be of interest to you:

"FLY-RITE Preflight Weather Risk Assessment Webinars - July 2020 Webinar Event Announcement"
Topic: We will cover preflight weather risk assessment and the unexpected tool for spotting thunderstorms.
On Saturday, August 1, 2020 at 08:00 Pacific Daylight Time (09:00 MDT, 10:00 CDT, 11:00 EDT, 05:00 HST, 07:00 AKDT, 08:00 Arizona, 15:00 GMT)

Select Number:
WP01101015

Description:

Below are the webinar announcements and dates for all three of our webinars for the month of July 2020:

Intro to Weather Briefings

Aviation Weather Hazards: Vital Information for Pilots

Avoid and Weather Risk Assessment

Please click on the event title below to view the details and register for the events you would like to attend.

"Weather is the most lethal of all major causes of aviation accidents.” Former FAA Administrator

Intro to Weather Briefings

Weather is the most lethal of all major causes of aviation accidents.

In this 90 minute webinar, Delia will show you how to meet the FAA briefing requirements while ALSO developing skills that will allow you to make better decisions regarding flight.

Learn the 6 elements you MUST CHECK in any brief

How to significantly reduce the mountain of needless data

How to use (and the value of) the new graphical forecast for aviation

When severe weather doesn't qualify as an adverse condition

Plus we'll walk through a standard weather brief, followed by Q&A

Dates offered for this month:

Wednesday, 1 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Wednesday, 8 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT

Monday, 13 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Wednesday, 15 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Monday, 20 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 3:00 PM PDT/6:00 PM EDT

Friday, 24 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 12:00 PM PDT/3:00 PM EDT

Wednesday, 29 July 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid

In this 60 minute webinar, you’ll learn methods to do just that. Assess the potential hazards and how to avoid them.

• The top resource for assessing potential turbulence or mountain wave.

• Tools that most pilots rely on—that are not reliable (and what to use instead)

• How to determine if thunderstorms will be a factor

• Recognizing turbulence or LLWS even when it's not forecast.

• Identifying mountain weather hazards in areas with few reporting points.

Dates offered for this month:

Friday, 3 July 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 8:00 AM PDT/11:00 AM EDT

Saturday, 11 July 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 9:00 AM PDT/12:00 PM EDT

Sunday, 19 July 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 8:00 AM PDT/11:00 PM EDT

Wednesday, 22 July 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Monday, 27 July 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 3:00 PM PDT/6:00 PM EDT

Weather Risk Assessment

In this 90 minute webinar (plus Q&A) Delia will demonstrate her method to clarify and add certainty to often conflicting weather information.

• Learn the top tools to identify each of the six hazards

• The tool most pilots rely on—that is actually the LEAST reliable tool (and what to use instead)

• How to identify “invisible” hazards.

• Recognizing LLWS even when it's not forecast.

This is our level 3 class for more experienced pilots, however, it can also benefit low time pilots.

Dates offered for this month:

Monday, 6 July 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Thursday, 9 July 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 3:00 PM PDT/6:00 PM EDT

Thursday, 23 July 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Tuesday, 28 July 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Friday, 31 July 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT

We look forward to seeing you in these webinars. Fly safe!

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

Balloon Federation of America

There's still time! The first ever virtual balloon camp will be July 13th - 16th, 2020 and you can still join in! Because it is virtual we do not have a limit on the number of participants. There is also no age restriction! If you've ever thought to yourself that you might like to do balloon camp or if you want to learn more about many of the things we have to know as pilots this is your chance to join in! There is a FREE camp so there is no reason not to sign up and give it a try!

Head to www.bfa.net/campinar and get registered today!

[06/17/20]   I have 2 2019 FAR/AIM I can give to someone if they want to have a version for study.

bfa.net

2020 Junior Balloonists Campinar - Balloon Federation of America

I'm not seeing a large representation for the East coast. Please share the word that we want he camp to be as full as possible. We have great speakers lined up and great topics to cover.

https://bfa.net/2020-junior-balloonists-campinar?fbclid=IwAR0FlmBcPz3rsDvvhn5wpZWFTObP5yBndoPupK2Yxcnwv5HpFyoCYuH9lsw

bfa.net Balloon Federation of America (BFA)

faa.gov

Aviation Instructor's Handbook

A new full PDF download of the Aviation Instructor's Handbook is now available

https://www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/handbooks_manuals/aviation/aviation_instructors_handbook/

faa.gov Sample Lesson Plans (PDF) Cover (PDF) Acknowledgments (PDF) Preface (PDF) Chapter 1: Risk Management and Single-Pilot Resource Management (PDF) Chapter 2: Human Behavior (PDF) Chapter 3: The Learning Process (PDF) Chapter 4: Effective Communication (PDF) Chapter 5: The Teaching Process (PDF) Chapter...

Hopefully no more cancellations this year

Aviation Square

B-52 Stratofortress Fast Start Up and Take Off- U.S. Air Force
B52 Store: https://aviationshops.com/b52

Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta

Today, we're providing an update for the 2020 event and answering some of your top questions about this year’s #BalloonFiesta. Director of Operations Sam Parks shares his insights and plans for the 2020 event.

Want your business to be the top-listed Gym/sports Facility in Greer?

Click here to claim your Sponsored Listing.

Videos (show all)

Pirate's Booty flight on 9/21/19
Pirate's Booty Flight
Cordele, GA Splash and Dash
NextGen

Location

Telephone

Address


132 Fawnbrook Drive
Greer, SC
29650
Other Sport & Recreation in Greer (show all)
Cannon's Carp and Catfish Lakes Cannon's Carp and Catfish Lakes
119 Matts Lake Rd.
Greer, 29651-4523

Catch and keep catfishing and tournament carp fishing

Cannons Fishing Lakes Cannons Fishing Lakes
119 Matts Lake Rd
Greer, 29651

BMW MOA BMW MOA
2350 SC-101 South
Greer, 29651

Since 1972 the BMW MOA has grown to be the largest brand specific motorcycle club in the world that is not owned and operated by the marque (company). Ride On! WWW.BMWMOA.ORG

Targets With Attitude Targets With Attitude
#146, 419 The Pkwy
Greer, 29650

We are a small family run business specializing in quality knives, targets of all kinds, and emergency outdoor gear.

Devenger Place Pool Devenger Place Pool
302 Paddock Dr
Greer, 29650

Devenger Place Family Center neighborhood Pool

South Carolina Gun Company South Carolina Gun Company
242 W Wade Hampton Blvd
Greer, 29650

Visit our gun shop in the heart of the Greer, SC community. We're known for our extensive stock and deep knowledge of firearms, ammo, and accessories.

The Blade Junior Golf Classic The Blade Junior Golf Classic
1275 Thornblade Blvd
Greer, 29650

2016 Tournament Dates: July 10-13, 2016. The Blade Junior Golf Classic is one of the top junior tournaments in South Carolina.

Caminata US Training And Racewalking Development Centre Caminata US Training And Racewalking Development Centre
690 E Suber Rd
Greer, 29650

Training and Development Facility for US and International Elite Racewalkers.

BMW Car Club of America BMW Car Club of America
2350 Highway 101 S
Greer, 29651

We're a 70,000-member national organization of owners & enthusiasts of BMW automobiles. Join the Club: http://bit.ly/4DUP4c

Larry Barbare & Sons Racing Larry Barbare & Sons Racing
Greer

I have 2 Step Sons, Robby & Andy Norris. Andy likes oval track racing. Robby likes drag racing.

Oat Mill Creek Oat Mill Creek
219 Briar Creek Rd
Greer, 29650

Custom Pottery and Herb Gardens, Window Boxes, Yard and Garden Art, Yard Lanterns and Torches.

City of Greer Recreation Programs City of Greer Recreation Programs
446 Pennsylvania Ave
Greer, 29650

Visit this page to stay updated on all programs and activities that the City of Greer Parks and Recreation Department has to offer!

About   Contact   Privacy   FAQ   Login C